New Data: 26 Congressmen Bought Out By Rep. Delay

WASHINGTON – Twenty-six U.S. representatives received the maximum contribution allowed from former House Majority Leader Tom DeLay’s political action committee this election cycle, according to an analysis released today by the Campaign for America’s Future. The data, prepared by the Center for Responsive Politics, outlines $10,000 contributions since the beginning of 2005 from Rep. DeLay’s ARMPAC (Americans for a Republican Majority PAC).

The 26 members are Rep. Bob Beauprez, R-Colo., Rep. Henry Bonilla, R-Texas; Rep. Charles Boustany Jr, R-La.; Rep. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va.; Rep. Chris Chocola, R-Ind.; Rep. Geoff Davis, R-Ky.; Rep. Charles Wieder Dent, R-Pa.; Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick, R-Pa.; Rep. Jeffrey Fortenberry, R-Neb.; Rep. Jim Gerlach, R-Pa.; Rep. Robin Hayes, R-N.C.; Rep. John Kuhl Jr, R-N.Y.; Rep. Marilyn Musgrave, R-Colo.; Rep. Anne Northup, R-Ky.; Rep. Dave Reichert, R-Wash.; Rep. Rick Renzi, R-Ariz.; Rep. Mike Rogers, R-Ala.; Rep. Jean Schmidt, R-Ohio; Rep. Joe Schwarz, R-Mich.; Rep. Rob Simmons, R-Conn.; Rep. Michael Sodrel, R-Ind.; and Rep. Heather Wilson, R-N.M.

Campaign for America’s Future deputy director Ellen Miller said the members who took the money illustrate a culture of corruption.

   “Looks like Rep. DeLay was trying to buy some insurance in case trouble came down the pike. Trouble is here,” said Miller.

Rep. DeLay’s political action committee received most of its funding from big corporate donors, according to the analysis. The top 10 recipients of Rep. DeLay’s money since 1994 include Rep. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., who received $48,500; Rep. Robin Hayes, R-N.C., $47,722; Rep. Mike Ferguson, R-N.J., $47,403; Rep. Heather Wilson, R-N.M., $46,959; Rep. Anne Northup, R-Ky., $42,000; Rep. Chris Chocola, R-Ind., $40,000; Rep. Rob Simmons, R-Conn., $39,500; Rep. Sam Graves, R-Mo., $35,000; Rep. Jim Ryun, R-Kan., $31,777; Rep. Clay Shaw Jr., D-Fla., $30,020.

# # #

*NOTE: A copy of the complete analysis and charts can be found here**